Title: The Taste Of Temperance 
Series: Vices & Virtues
Author: Ember Davis
Genre: Contemporary Romance 

Add on Goodreads



When I literally crashed and burned, soaked in the gasoline of bad decisions and alcohol, it was time to take a hard look at my life and make some changes. The night I lost the man that I thought I was going to love forever changed everything. It set me on a new path.

I cling to my sobriety because without it I’d float into the void of loss and nothingness I was headed toward one way or another. If it hadn’t been him, would it have been me? I’ll never know, but I keep moving forward.

When Luca, whose heartbeat feels so familiar under my palms, comes into my life, it’s another crash and another change in trajectory. Can we fix the pieces of ourselves which have always been broken? What secrets does he hide behind his charming smiles? Why does it feel like he knows me? Why does it feel like I already love him?

I grew up in the shadow of my family and my brothers. They protected me and sheltered me. I don’t blame them considering how sickly I was growing up. Everyone was always so careful around me.

Weak. Breakable. What no one ever saw was that I was already broken and hiding. Because of the man I couldn’t be with the rest of the Agosti men looming over me and my body a betrayal from my first breath.

I got a new lease on life when I finally got the heart transplant I needed, but there’s a yearning inside of me. I’m compelled to find out about the man who had my heart and when I see Linden, I know why. She’s mine. She becomes my obsession, an addiction I was never able to have before. I’ll stand between her and anything that wants to harm her, including the ashes of loss she’s risen from. Will the secrets between us and how our paths connect tear us apart or bring us together?

**18+. This story has dark themes and a morally gray hero. You’ll still find an insta-love story that is spicy and isn’t necessarily simple, but with darker themes, situations, stalking and touches on issues of addiction. No cheating with a guaranteed HEA. This book is part of my Agosti Crime Family series but can be read as a standalone. Meet the Agosti family in Flames and Flowers. Check out the chronological reading order for the Agosti Crime Family books below.**
Agosti Family Chronological Reading Order:
Where Roses Lay
Lilies and Lies
Plucking His Daisy
The Taste of Temperance

Virtue—sincere, wholesome living as the remedy and atonement for sin. Vice—freedom to lose all your inhibitions and give in to your wildest desires. Two sides of the same wicked coin.
Fourteen of your favorite romance authors have come together to treat you to a steamy selection of carnal temptations. Whether you’re steeped in sin or pervaded in purity…this October, fall victim to the Vices & Virtues.




Ember Davis loves alpha heroes with a range of emotions, but a strong sense of how to take care of their women.  She loves her heroines from all walks of life, just like her heroes, and she wants them to be real and relatable.  Her heroines tend to be sassy, opinionated and smart.

Ember is a stay at home mom of two who recently refound her love of books and all things romance and is so glad that she did.  She’s always been creative but writing and creating stories that she would love to read that satisfies the dreams she had as a little girl.  She loves butterflies, the color purple and enjoying time with her family. 

Pssst…it’s totally a pen name, but everything above is 100% true.


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.